Home » Uncategorized » Compassionate Consumption

Compassionate Consumption

Blog Stats

  • 5,382 hits

If you know me at all, and even if you don’t, you’ll know that I am a sucker for a good documentary. I am a horrible movie watcher, but put a documentary on, and I’m hooked for the duration of the doc, and probably even for the length of another one. Especially if it deals with food and/or healthy living, I’m even more intrigued (but I’m open to any)…a few weeks ago, following the recommendation of a friend, I sat down to watch Vegucated.

It was vegucational. It made me laugh. It made me cry. It did all of these while following 3 “meat and cheese loving individuals” for 6 weeks who adapted a vegan diet into their lives. The film explored the woes of the food industry, and the personal lives of 3 people, who helped to change the world, one bite at a time. If you haven’t yet seen it, I highly recommend it. I haven’t really incorporated many animal products in my diet since watching the film.

I’ve always had the thought that a vegan diet would be nice in the back of my head, but I didn’t think that I could do it. That’s just nonsense, as it’s really not that hard! Not only am I helping to save the planet, but I feel better and have tons of energy, starting from the minute I pop out of bed in the morning. I am also sleeping much better at night, and I’ve lost some lbs too. I can’t complain about any of the things I’ve just mentioned, except for the cost of buying vegan products, as they’re not that cheap, womp womp. But, I am no longer buying other expensive cheeses/dairy products/meats (although I never really have been big into the meats), so I guess it’s a trade-off.

So Delicious/Expensive!

So Delicious/Expensive!

I’m trying out a somewhat modified vegan diet to see if it will help decrease my body’s cortisol production…I’m eating a vegan diet at home, and if I’m out, it’s sometimes not easy or enjoyable to eat vegan, so I’ll modify my plan then and eat to my taste buds’ contentment (they choose animal or non-animal)! I really enjoy cooking at le home, so there hasn’t been much of a challenge in finding things to make. Even my roommates and friends have enjoyed a few vegan meals, and they are by no means vegan or even vegetarian. For breakfast, I usually juice or I’ve recently taken a liking to oatmeal:

...and coffee in my fave mug

Green juice blended with a banana…

Too good!

Oats with honey, blueberries, ground flax, and coconut milk

Some of the entrees/main dishes I’ve made include: butternut squash and other vegetable soup (pureed), guacamole, cashew/cucumber salad, curried vegetable coconut milk delight, beet burgers, & stuffed spaghetti squash:

Vegan wine, guac, cukes & cashews, Bnut squash soup

Vegan wine, guac, cukes & cashews, Bnut squash soup

Curried veggie & tempeh coconut milk delight

Curried veggie & tempeh coconut milk delight

Butternut squash alfredo with a simply delicious salad!

Butternut squash alfredo with a simply delicious salad!

We got the BEET!

We got the BEET!

As I learned from my “Vegan Sourcebook, Second Edition”, the term is pronounced with a long e and a hard g…not to be confused with “veggan,” “vaygun,” “vayjun,” or “veejun,” so please don’t call me any of the aforementioned. However, I don’t much like labels, therefore I don’t consider myself to be a vegan. I simply eat a vegan diet. Vegans aim to use no animal products, but I haven’t converted to that side yet, as my purse and wallet are still made of leather, and I feel as though I probably have other things in my bag o’ tricks that have animal products in them…I’m just trying my best to avoid animal products in my diet…The results? So far, so good! In fact, I’m loving it.

I go to Shands to see my new endo this coming Thursday, so we’ll then find out if eating this way has also had a positive effect on the inner workings of my body/cortisol production. I’ll also find out if/when a 4th surgery is necessary, and if it is, I’ll hopefully schedule it for February or March of this year. Can’t.wait.

I’m not going to push my eating habits on others, but there is something to be said for compassionate consumption. But with everything in life, I truly believe to each their own, especially if it makes you happy :)

Kicking Cushing’s To The Curb,

Laura

Email or Facebook me if you have any questions or want any recipes!

6 Comments

  1. Jeesun says:

    I like the title of this post!

  2. Susan says:

    Loved Veducated. I had been transitioning to a plant based diet and that documentary sealed the deal for me. I wish everyone would watch it and Forks Over Knives. I hope you get good results at your next check-up!

  3. Susan F. says:

    Love your attitude, it’s so good that you try your best on everything, I just want to share what I read on Dr, Oz website, He says Holybasil helps lower cortisol levels, I just though that since you are trying to eat cortisol lowering food, maybe a good idea to learn I bit about this plant, Holy basil.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 879 other followers

