Attitude of Gratitude

I recently received an awesome package from a dear friend of mine who lives out on the West Coast. Included was a sweet card with many uplifting messages, a couple articles for my reading/life pleasure, and a “gratitude journal”. In the card, she wrote about my ups and downs with Cushing’s, and how I’m pretty much a beast when it comes to fighting disease, and she also pointed out that I have a lot to be grateful for, hence her sending a lovely medium through which I can record those things for which I am grateful on a daily basis.

As I was walking my dog this morning and listening to my favorite podcast (Half Size Me), I was reflecting over my seemingly never-ending health saga and how much it frustrates and saddens me, but in the end, I realized that I do have so much for which I am grateful. For starters, I am grateful to be alive at this point. I am also incredibly grateful that I have the most amazing support system, full of loving friends and family members, who have helped me through some rather rotten times. I am also insanely grateful/proud to be an American, as cheesy as it might seem, but I’ve lived in the developing world and know first hand what it’s like to not have freedom and access to health care, as we [Americans] know it. And my last thing for today is that I’m also grateful for my dog, Max. He’s a real good friend to have πŸ™‚

This picture was taken by my friend Ashley, about this time last year, when he was a wee pup pup!
This picture was taken by my friend Ashley, about this time last year, when he was a wee pup pup!

Instead of focusing on the negative things in my life, many of which I have no control over (the medical aspect of my disease), I have always tried to focus on the positive and see things in an uplifting manner. When I lived in Ethiopia, I tried to write down 5 things a day that made me happy. This new journal is kind of along those same lines.

Before sitting down to write this post, I found my box of trusted Sharpie markers, and neatly printed a title on the cover of my new journal. I can’t wait to start recording my daily gratefulness by hand. It will be an awesome tool to look back on down the road. I’m not sure why I had never thought of this simple idea, but I guess I can say I am also grateful for my intelligent friends, namely a certain Mr. Roboto (you know who you are!) on this beautiful Sunday afternoon.

This is for writing down the things for which I am grateful, on a daily basis.
I am grateful that I am not vegan, as I think bacon (in moderation) helps make the world go round πŸ™‚

Did I mention that it’s December 2nd and I wore a tank top and shorts on my walk today? Gotta love “Winter” in the South…although I think that technically starts on December 21st.

On that note, Happy December πŸ™‚

Kicking Cushing’s to the curb,

Laura

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

