The Perks of Being A Cushingoid

What a strange term to call someone, but that’s in reference to the disease I have. However, I do not like to refer to myself as my disease’s name, so you can still just call me Laura. But around the medical offices, they refer to patients like myself as being “Cushingoid”…one really nice doctor I once had told me that, “Around the office we say that you guys look like lemons with toothpicks stuck in you; you know, the central obesity with skinny arms and legs!!” NOT my idea of a humorous joke, but luckily, she’s no longer my doctor. Come to find out, I think she was the only one who uses that “jokey term” to describe people like me. Suck it, DQ, as I’m healing and no longer look as Cushingoid as I once did.

I’m posting this image to give you a bit of insight as to what my body has become. Femininity? Yep, that’s gone. Can it come back? I sure as heck hope so. My new body shape is less than desirable, but hey, it happened, and there wasn’t a damn thing I could do to change it at the time. So, here I am:

Cushing's Patient
A Cushingoid, not to be confused with an alien!

That’s not actually ME, but rather a depiction of what it is I look like without clothes on. Yikes, right?! Things are gradually getting better; my moon face has decreased, as has my buffalo hump. My face is less red, as are my glorious stretch marks. My gut is not nearly as large as it once was, and it’s only going to keep shrinking from here…With hard work and perseverance, of course…Also, the extreme weight gain is just ONE of the MANY symptoms that Cushing’s has…it’s the one that you can really see. Perhaps my next post will be all the signs/symptoms of CD, not to be confused with cardiovascular disease!

But, as I’ve mentioned before, I can’t exactly change what happened to me, so I’ve just got to roll with it. Some days are better than others, but overall, my life could be way worse. I know I’ll be back to the “old me” in due time, and until then, I’m doing my best to enjoy the ride (in a 2001 Silver Volvo sedan, what what!!). I’m looking forward to 2013 being the year of Cushing’s leaving my life, so I no longer have to be referred to as some alien-sounding person, when the docs say “Cushingoid”. It’s funny, but only to some small extent. Actually, if I didn’t laugh about it, I’d probably go insane, so I’ll take the laughter over insanity any day.

Cheers to a healthier and disease-free year!

Kicking Cushing’s to the Curb,

Laura

Got my game face on.
SERENITY NOW!!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

