Who Doesn’t Love a Good Petition?

Hello again.

It was recently brought to my attention that there is something floating out there on the interwebs that could possibly one day save my life, or the life of someone like me. I, along with several other people, lack adrenal glands (or have adrenal insufficiency) and those glands are crucial to one’s survival.

For the remainder of my life, I have to take replacement hormones (by way of steroids) that were once produced by my old adrenal glands. The glands are responsible for the production of the hormones cortisol and aldosterone, and both play a significant role in one’s ability to stay alive.

Now fast forward to me (or someone else who lacks adrenals) getting into a bad accident or having an illness where I am brought to the emergency room. Aside from endocrinologists, not many doctors or medical personnel know much about rare endocrine disorders, and therefore there’s not exactly a standard protocol for them to follow in this type of situation. Someone in my situation can have what is called an “adrenal crisis“, wherein the individual needs a mega dose of steroids ASAP in order to avoid further damage to oneself, or possibly even death. A body with normally functioning adrenals automatically produces excess cortisol to fight off infection or in response to any type of trauma.

I know this sounds extreme, but I am living with an extreme condition that is manageable with replacement steroids. However, I.C.E. (in case of an emergency), things can change rather quickly. Please please please consider opening the link I’ve posted below – it’s a petition to get the type of help that people like myself need when faced with a crisis. If you agree that it could save a life or 239764598 in the future, please sign your name. Many more signatures are needed by October 9, 2014. Also, feel free to share the link with anyone you know who has a heart and internet access.

https://petitions.whitehouse.gov/petition/establish-emergency-policies-treat-adrenal-crises-timely-treatment-prevents-needless-disability-and/xfQ5jnFR

From the White House to Your House.
From the White House to Your House.

Thank you for your time and consideration,

Laura

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

