6 Months Post-Op & the 2k14 Philly Marathon

Today marks 6 months since I had my adrenal glands removed. The results? Nothing crazy so far. Have I dropped tons of weight? Nope. Am I feeling better? For the most part. Has my skin turned orange yet? Nah.

There’s something called Nelson’s Syndrome that affects a small percentage of people who have had their adrenals removed. I’m not exactly sure what it does to a person, besides make them look tan with an orange tint (think Oompa Loompa, although I don’t think it’s that extreme…) Since I had radiation to my pituitary ~2.5 years ago, that apparently protects me against getting Nelson’s Syndrome, which is real nice. However, last Friday, I started turning violet (Violet):

I'm afraid I just blue myself.
I’m afraid I just blue myself.

Just playing, it was my Halloween costume – I thought I’d embrace the figure that Cushing’s left behind, and go as Violet Beauregarde from Willy Wonka & the Chocolate Factory. It was a last minute costume using items I oddly had on hand…and I must say that it worked out pretty well!

My endocrinologist did say that it would take at least 6 months for my body to fully adjust to not having its glands, but nothing spectacular has happened yet today. I realize that one can’t rush progress, and that all bodies heal differently. I’m not worried that I’m not 100% better yet – things like that take time. However, I haven’t let my adrenally insufficient state slow me down.

So, what have I been doing? My dog Max is very curious and asks a lot of questions.

Do tell.

  • I lassoed a cow in Texas

    Everything's bigger in Texas.
    Everything’s bigger in Texas.
  • I saw a country boy shake it for me (and thousands of others)

    Dat ass.
    Dat ass.
  • I hiked to a beautiful waterfall in South Carolina
    Slow and steady wins the race!
    Slow and steady wins the race!

    Please stick to the rivers and the lakes that you're used to.
    Please stick to the rivers and the lakes that you’re used to.
  • I witnessed Jimmy Buffett’s bare feet

    Changes in latitude, changes in attitude.
    Changes in latitude, changes in attitude.
  • I made cupcakes that were really cute

    Gone fishing.
    Gone fishing.
  • I touched a pregnant woman’s belly (who just so happens to be carrying my nephew!)

    And I have 3 hands, surprise!
    And I have 3 hands, surprise!

But most importantly, I donated to a very worthwhile cause for a dear dear friend who will be running in the 2014 Philadelphia Marathon on November 23rd in Philly, PA. My amazing friend, Kate, currently lives in Haiti and is working for Partners in Health (PIH) as a member of their mental health team, to bring a community-based approach to provide mental health services for the people of Haiti. There are currently less than 12 psychiatrists in the entire country with a population of 10 million.

All of the proceeds that Kate and her teammates raise for the marathon will go to PIH. If you or someone you know has the ability to contribute, please do so, and feel free the share the link below with your family, friends, coworkers, Uber drivers, doctors, frenemies, lovers, etc…The money raised through this page will go towards treating vicious diseases like malaria and tuberculosis, building homes for poor families, helping farmers increase their crops, and treating malnutrition in children. Every dollar helps 🙂

https://donate.pih.org/page/outreach/view/athleticchallenge/phillymarathon

Kate has been training in Haiti, where the conditions and terrain are quite different from that of Philadelphia. Kate is used to living outside of the United States, as she and I met as Peace Corps Volunteers in Ethiopia back in October of 2009. We were placed as random roommates for a few days in the very beginning, and hit it off basically before we even met each other (she may have stalked me on the Facebook page). Anywho, Kate’s one of the most incredible individuals I’ve ever had the pleasure of knowing, and she just so happens to be incredibly talented. She tackles whatever she sets her mind out to do, and I know she’ll finish running those 26.2 miles in a few weeks with a huge smile on her face. I tip my hat to anyone who can do such amazing feats! Get it, K8.

We had matching Macabi skirts, WHAT THE WHAT
We had matching Macabi skirts, WHAT THE WHAT

As always, thanks for reading, and I hope this message finds everyone well. Happy Fall to y’all!

Laura

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

